Raconte-moi ta langue

Fun, creative and reflective activities that help youth to learn indigenous languages.

What is it?

Trickster: raconte-moi ta langue essentially follows the format and activities of Trickster but it incorporates the learning and the transmission of indigenous languages in its activities. Indigenous youth aged 8 to 18 are encouraged to take part in educational, fun and creative workshops that are centred around the transmission of ancestral stories as told by elders and teachers in their community.

The project's goal is to revitalize the indigenous languages and to reinforce the cultural identity of indigenous youth. In addition, it aims to strengthen its participants' self-confidence and self-esteem.

 

How?

Through linguistic and cultural camps, a series of workshops are rolled out daily over a period of 10 to 15 days, at a rate of 3 to 6 hours of workshop per day. These cultural and linguistic camps are led by a ground team consisting of one ground coordinator, one artist-mediator from the Exeko team as well as one local coordinator, one cultural teacher and one elder from the community.

An activity guide is also available (soon). It collects good practices (techniques and workshops) that promote language learning and transmission and make these practices accessible to other indigenous communities. This guide offers activities that are adapted and presented in such a way that community members can easily adopt and use them.

« I saw my students showing who they are. They showed their true colors. »
Michael Neeposh, Waswanipi

 

CONTACT

Yann Allard-Tremblay​
indigenous project manager
(514) 528-9706 extension 108

Since 2016

3 communities:

 •Nutashkuan
 • Waswanipi
 • Lac-Simon

75 participants


1 illustrated guide coming online soon

 

(c) Jani Greffe Bélanger for Exeko

 

Partenaires du projet • Project's partners

Raconte-moi ta langue

  Activités ludiques, créatives et réflexives qui contribuent à l’apprentissage des langues autochtones pour les jeunes. 

C'EST QUOI ?

Trickster : Raconte-moi ta langue reprend essentiellement la forme et les activités de Trickster mais il intégre dans ses activités l’apprentissage et la transmission des langues autochtones. Des jeunes autochtones de 8 à 18 ans sont ainsi appelé.e.s à prendre part à des ateliers éducatifs, ludiques et créatifs qui se concentrent autour de la transmission de contes autochtones par des aîné.e.s et des instructeur.e.s de leur communauté.

Le projet se donne pour objectif la revitalisation des langues autochtones et le renforcement de l'identité culturelle des jeunes autochtones. De plus, il vise à renforcer la confiance et l'estime de soi des différents participant.es.

 

COMMENT ?

Par le biais de camps linguistiques et culturels, une série d'ateliers sont déployés quotidiennement, sur une période de 10 à 15 jours, à raison de 3 à 6 heures d'atelier par jour. Ces camps culturels et linguistiques sont menés par une équipe terrain composée d’un.e coordonnateur/trice terrain, d’un.e artiste-médiateur/trice de l’équipe d’Exeko ainsi que d'un.e coordonnateur/trice local.e, d'un.e instructeur/trice culturel.le et d'un.e aîné.e de la communauté.

Un guide d'activités est, par ailleurs, bientôt disponible afin de permettre la diffusion de bonnes pratiques (techniques et ateliers) pour favoriser l'apprentissage et la transmission de la langue, et de rendre ces pratiques accessibles à d'autres communautés autochtones. Ce guide offre des activités adaptées et présentées d'une manière à ce que les membres des communautés puissent se les approprier et les utiliser.

 

« I saw my students showing who they are. They showed their true colors. »
Michael Neeposh, Waswanipi
CONTACT

Yann Allard-Tremblay
Chargé de projet Autochtone
(514) 528-9706 poste 108

Depuis 2016

3 communautés :

 • Nutashkuan
 • Waswanipi
 • Lac-Simon

75 participants

1 guide illustré bientôt en ligne

(c) Jani Greffe Bélanger pour Exeko

 

Partenaires du projet • Project's partners

                      

 

        

RBA Groupe financier